Discussion on removal of list and get workflows queries in Zeebe 0.18.0

This is a continuation of a Slack convo (available here) related to the removal of list and get workflows queries from the Zeebe API in 0.18.0. Because we consider this an important discussion about the product, we decided to move it to the forum so that it’s easier for new users to find and easier to reference in the future.

The last comment of that conversation was:

as a developer I find it very helpful to have symmetric APIs whenever feasible. if I can create a thing, I should be able to list those things too. If zeebe doesn’t support listing workflows, then every developer has to implement their own system for tracking what’s been deployed. That seems like an impediment to adoption. Further, recovery from system failures becomes more difficult. Is it truly a binary choice that ‘all workflows were lost’ or ‘no workflows were lost’? Perhaps this doesn’t matter in this case as users could simply redeploy every workflow they think they should have… ?

First of all thank you for your feedback. It is very valuable for us and helps us to shape the future of Zeebe. Regarding the current discussion of removing query APIs from Zeebe 0.18 I want to give you some background information which might help you to understand our decision. Zeebe is not designed to be a queryable state store, instead it focuses on the execution of stateful workflows. The only existing query APIs (list/get workflow) were initially implemented as a temporary solution before the exporter API was available. We now decided to remove them before the GA as they were inconsistent with the remaining API, i.e. no query APIs for workflow instances and jobs. This doesn’t mean that we will never implement a query API, but we’re not going to offer it right now.